Sunday, 31 January 2010

News: Angoulême 2010 Results! Baru Takes Home the Grand Prix

The fauves await (taken from

Motorbikes, scarves, dungeons, dinosaurs, detectives, monsters and... laser... ninjas? The results from the the 2010 Angoulême festival are in, and can be viewed after the jump:

Saturday, 30 January 2010

Review: Tommi Musturi's Sur les Pas de Samuel (5c, 2009)

 Finnish edition: "Samuelin matkassa", identical in all but title and publishing marks*

Last weekend, after a day in Paris spent fighting bad weather, subway power cuts and belligerent train-station monsters, Team Avoid the Future managed to visit La Rubrique A Bulles to pick up some BDs before returning to Versailles.

Amongst our haul was this little gem: Sur les Pas de Samuel (Walking with Samuel) by Finnish creator Tommi Musturi.

Initially spotted by Judith, but almost immediately gaining the affections of us both, by appearances alone we knew that we had to buy this book. Sporting an awesome hardback canvas-textured rainbow-coloured cover and filled with charming, (deceptively) simplistic and wordless art, there was no way we were going to leave without it. I’ll be honest, the fact that it contains absolutely no dialogue was a major plus for me, and whilst my ATF cohort (French born and bred) has been helping me learn her language, I’m still (comparatively) l’anglais ignorant.

The image that greeted us upon opening the book in the comic shop

Needless to say, we couldn't wait to read it in full, beginning to do so it almost as soon as our train left the capital.

Friday, 29 January 2010

News: 2010 Angoulême Festival Begins!

The official poster designed by Blutch.

Beginning 2010 (and this blog) with a smile: the 37th Angoulême International Comics Festival began yesterday!

From the 28th until the 31st of January, Bande Dessinée madness will rule the city in south-western France. Over 100 artists, writers and editors will meet to share their work with around 200,000 visitors, while the jury (under the presidency of last year’s Grand Prix winner, Blutch) will be busy sorting out the recipients of the 10 fauves d’Angoulême.

The award itself. We want one.

Some of the favourites amongst the 58 'albums' in competition this year: Eightball (Daniel Clowes), Blast (Manu Larcenet), George Sprott (Seth), Paul à Québec (Michel Rabagliati), Misery Loves Comedy (Ivan Brunetti), Alpha... Directions (Jens Harder), Aujourd'hui n'existe pas (ANCCO), Dix petits insectes (Vincent Pianina et Davide Cali), The Book of Genesis (Robert Crumb), Kinky et Cosy, l'intégrale (Nix), Rébétiko (David Prudhomme), along with many others.

Also, if you’re lucky enough to be traveling there, you may have the chance to meet the following guest star-cartoonists: Joe Sacco (Footnotes from Gaza), Dash Shaw, David Heatley, Kevin O’Neill, Enki Bilal, Seiichi Hayashi, Floc’h and Rivière.


Winners announced Sunday evening!


Friday, 1 January 2010

Featured on ATF


Tommi Musturi  /  Jeffrey Brown  /  Ethan Rilly  /  Simon Gärdenfors  /  Mats Jonsson
 Kolbeinn Karlsson  /  Anouk Ricard  /  Lord Hurk  /  Kevin Ward  / Daniel Locke
Jimi Gherkin  /  Karoline Rerrie  /  Richard Cowdrie  /  Joe Decie  /  Paul Layzell
Michael Neno  /  Jess Smart Smiley  / Joey Weiser  /  Iain Laurie  /  Lauren Barnett
Joonas Sildre  /  Nicolene Louw  /  Lilli Loge  /  Delius  /  Anna Bas Backer

Caro Chinaski  /  PowerPaola  /   Maartje Schalkx  /  Ulla Loge  /  Clara Lagos

Mārtiņš Zutis  /  Davi Calil  /  Paul Paetzel  /  Laï Tat Tat Wing  /  Rokudai Tanaka
Hironori Kikuchi  /  Johan Klungel  /  Patrick Dean  /  David Mack  / Drew Weing

Eleanor Davis  /  Michael DeForge  /  Craoman  /  Rica  /  David François
 Robin  /  J.M. Shiveley  /  BenGrrr  /  Tanxxx  /  Raphaël B.

Ira Marcks  /  James Kochalka  /  Kathryn & Stuart Immonen  /  Jarrett Williams  /  Box Brown

Tom Humberstone  /  Luke Pearson  /  Julia Scheele  /  Stephen Collins  /  Adam Cadwell
 Lizz Lunney  /  Anne Holiday  /  Josh Latta  /  Ulli Lust  /  Noah Van Sciver

 David Ziggy Greene  /  Dina Kelberman  /  Brendan Leach  /  Brooks M. Williams  /  Patrick Kyle

Ginette Lapalme  /  Chris Kuzma  /  Will Dinski  /  Andrew White  /  David DeGrand

Bob Flynn   /  Chris Houghton  /  Dan Moynihan  /  Britt Wilson  /  Aaron Leighton

Jon Vermilyea  /  Dustin Harbin  /  Chris Eliopoulos  /  Darryl Cunningham  /  Sam Spina

Pierre Maurel  /  Joseph Remnant  /  Kevin Church  /  T.J. Kirsch  /  Nick Edwards
 Sean Michael Wilson  /   J. T. Yost  /  Tory Sica  /  Adam Kidder  /  Anuj Shrestha

Andres Vera Martinez  /  Johnny Ryan  /  Edward Ross  /  Van Jensen  /  Madèleine Flores

Hellen Jo  /  Lucy Knisley  /  Rui Tenreiro  /  Terreur Graphique  /  Kevin Huizenga

Shane Houghton  /  Inés Estrada  /  Ralph Niese  /  Lauren Albert  /  Santiago Grijalva

Garrett Young  /  Edwin Sandoval  /  Nick Gazin  /  Pat Lewis  /  Derik

Tin Can Forest   /  Peggy Adam  /  Dicky Short  /  Malachi Ward  /  Mat Sheean


The Fancy Butcher  /  Solipsistic Pop  /  Bedsit Journal  Kuš! Magazine  /  Chicks on Comics

  Electrocomics  /  Wowee Zonk  /  Heeby Jeeby Comix  /  Trio Magnus  /  Gang Bang Bong

 5c  /  Top Shelf  /  AdHouse  /  Editions Charrette  /  Fantagraphics

 Grimalkin Press  /  Oni Press  /  Koyama Press  /  Kilgore Books  /  Blank Slate Books

Bird Cage Bottom Books  /  Alternative Press  /  Self Made Hero  /  Nobrow


Arkham (Paris)  /  Gosh! (London)  /  Good Grief! (Manchester)


Poopsheet Foundation  /  Small Press, Big Mouth  /  Nostalgiafied  /  Parabasis  /  Strange Kids Club